Trial by Twitter


Seems to me most people still think of Twitter as a phenomenal waste of time, inhabited either by attention crazed celebs or nobodies updating the twitterverse on the latest trivia in their lives. And of course there are plenty of those out there on Twitter (I indulge in the latter from time to time, especially on my personal Twitter account). Even my own attempts to articulate the value that you can get from Twitter sound unconvincing (although there may be other issues that hamper me there).

But still I think I have to keep plugging away with the message that even if you don’t engage with Twitter, you have to understand how people are using it. So to add to the scholarly communication mix, here is an article that describes how academic papers are being critiqued on Twitter:

Peer review: Trial by Twitter

Blogs and tweets are ripping papers apart within days of publication, leaving researchers unsure how to react

One thought on “Trial by Twitter

Leave a comment